## ICA Political Communication Division 2013 Business Meeting Minutes (London, UK)

### 1. Welcome (Claes de Vreese)

- Conference called to order at 5 p.m.
- Approval of the 2012 Business Meeting Minutes (minutes approved)
- Best ICA Article Award went a division member:

Bennett, W.L. & Segeberg, A. (2012). The logic of connective action: Digital media and the personalization of contentious politics. Information, Communication & Society, 15, 739-768.

## 2. Report from ICA Board of Directors meeting (Claes de Vreese)

- LONDON: CONFERENCE OF ALL RECORDS!! (largest conference in the history of the ICA)
- 32 pre/post-conferences: 1,200 registrants
- Over 2,700 registered participants, nearly 4,000 proposals, 469 sessions, about 2,000 presentations
- Green initiative: 35% app and no print program
- Midterm board meeting in Seattle in January 13 and regular board meeting in London
- Journals
  - All ICA journals online only by 2018 (with marginal print on demand option)
  - All ICA journals EiC and AE structure
  - 4 year terms (in exceptional cases 5)
  - AE's appointed by Editor (JOC e.g. Lance Holbert, Jorg Matthes, Jesper Stromback, Yariv Tsfati)
  - Editorial Board dissolves after editor's term
  - Plagarism procedures
  - Two new editors:

# - CCC RHADIKA PARAMESWARAN INDIANA UNIVERSITY

# - JCMC SHYAM SUNDAR PENN STATE UNIVERSITY

- Revision of Fellow election procedures is being discussed
- New membership category ('contingent/adjunct') @75%
- Membership due increase
- Awards: 60% non US membership on committees, 6 of 7 non US chairs, 6 of 7 awards US recipients
- ICA signs San Francisco declaration
- Ongoing: external communication, internationalization, mentorship on publishing in English, intellectual property, research repositories
- Future conferences:
  - 2014 SEATTLE
  - 2015 PUERTO RICO
  - 2016 JAPAN
  - 2017 SAN DIEGO
  - 2018 PRAGUE
  - 2019 WASHINGTON DC

## 3. Annual Report of the Division (Claes de Vreese)

- Graduate Student Preconference @ LSE
  - 21 participants from 7 countries
  - Monday full day @ LSE
  - Student presentations & feedback

- Skills (publishing, building a CV, networking)
- Thanks to: Magdalena Wojcieszak, Yariv Tsfati, Jesper Stromback, Claes de Vreese
- Co-sponsor of pre- and post-conferences
- New award (PhD dissertation)
- Graduate conference at U Washington, Seattle
- The division would happily co-sponsor additional events
- If you have ideas for pre-conferences for the Seattle conference, please let Jesper know
- Dinner in Seattle the Division will hold a conference dinner in Seattle next year
- Secretary/Treasurer
  - Secretary: Sophie Lecheler
  - 700 members
- Budget: Income
  - Last year: anticipated increase due to increase in royalties and a new annual honorarium from T&F, totaling \$25,000
- Budget: Spending
  - Cash award for top student papers (500\$\*3)
  - Cash award for Best PhD dissertation (500\$)
  - Increased student travel from \$700 in 2010-11 to \$3350 in 2013-14
  - Increased spending on reception (co-sponsored by T&F)
  - Support for the grad student preconference (8000\$ budget, used "only" 2500\$ in 2014)
  - Meetings/negotiations with ICA about "carry over"
  - Proposal: committee and activities aimed at PhD students and Young Scholars (e.g. workshop, summer school, online seminar etc). Ideas welcome!

- Newsletter / Website / Blog: Political Communication Report (Talia Stroud)
  - Please check out the website!
  - Next newsletter: next week, advice on job market, social media presence, books, announcements conferences etc.
  - If you want to contribute (newsletter, blog etc), please let Talia know
  - Facebook become a Political Communication friend!
- Journal Report: Political Communication (Patricia Moy for Shanto Iyengar)
  - Impact Factor / IF up to 2.415 (Yearly IF)
  - Journal report:
    - App 300 submissions (240 original)
    - Effective acceptance rate 13%
    - Average time from submission to decision (all submissions): 36 (down from 2011)
      - Number of (active) reviewers: 214
    - Total number of reviews: 523
    - Page expansion: from 5 to 7 articles per issue; backlog app 9 months
  - Claes de Vreese will take over from Shanto in September 2014. Congratulations!

#### 4. Program planner's report (Jesper Stromback)

- LONDON SETS A NEW ALL TIME HIGH
- 319 individual submissions + 29 panel submissions
- Paper acceptance rate 41%
- Panel acceptance rate 21%
- 2-3 reviewers per paper
- 182 reviewers, most reviewed 4-5 papers
- 35 sessions + business meeting and reception + interactive poster session

- THANKS TO ALL REVIEWERS FOR VOLUNTEERING: YOUR WORK AND HELP IS LITERALLY INDISPENSIBLE!
- Proposal: planner discretion: 'senior PhD candidate reviewers'

# 5. Division Awards

• Travel Grants

Ashley Muddiman University of Texas at Austin, Joshua Scacco University of Texas at Austin, Wenjie Yan University of Wisconsin-Madison, Hyunjin Song, The Ohio State University, Brian Weeks The Ohio State University, Laia Castro Herrero Laia University of Zurich, Eike MarkRinke University of Mannheim, Sijia Yang University of Pennsylvania, Patrick Merle Texas Tech University, Eshan Shahghasemi University of Teheran – unable to come, Jin Woo Kim University of Pennsylvania (+student paper award)

• Student Paper Awards

Jin Woo Kim, U Pennsylvania

Fully Considered Healthcare Policy Preferences and deliberation effects on opinion change

Sanne Kruikemeier et al. ASCoR, U Amsterdam

The Relationship Between Campaigning on Twitter and Electoral Support; Present or Absent?

Debby Vos, U Antwerp

Which politicians pass media gates and why? A preliminary model and review of previous studies

• Faculty Paper Awards

Lauren Feldman, American U

Teresa Myers, George Mason U

Jay Hmielowski, U Arizona

Anthony Leiserowitz, Yale U

The Mutual Reinforcement of Media Selectivity and Effects: Testing the Reinforcing Spirals Framework in the Context of Global Warming

• Kaid-Sanders Award

Committee: William Eveland (chair), Young Mie Kim, Jörg Matthes, Marko Skoric, Katrin Voltmer

Winer: Bailard, C. S. (2012). Testing the Internet's effect on democratic satisfaction. A multimethodological, cross-national approach. *Journal of Information Technology & Politics*, 9, 185-204.

• PhD dissertation award

Committee: Lance Holbert (Ohio State, US), Toril Aalberg (NTNU, Norway), Yariv Tsfati (Haifa, Israel)

Winner: Keren Tenenboim-Weinblatt

• David Swanson Award 2012

Committee members: Steve Reese, U. of Texas, Austin, USA (Chair), Ann Crigler, U of Southern California, USA, Kathleen Hall Jamieson, U of Pennsylvania, USA, Carsten Reinemann, Ludwig Maximilians U, Germany, Magdalena Wojcieszak, IE University, Spain

Winner: David L. Paletz, Duke University

## 5. New Business?

#### 6. Next year

- Claes de Vreese (U of Amsterdam), Chair
- Jesper Stromback (Mid Sweden U), Vice Chair and Program Planner

- Sophie Lecheler (U of Amsterdam), Secretary
- NEW ELECTIONS (for officers 2015 onwards)
- CU in Seattle ....

# 7. Adjourn

Meeting adjourned at 6.30 pm