Political Communication Section Leadership

Tim Groeling
Department of Communication Studies

Vice Chair
Kim Fridkin
School of Politics and Global Studies
Arizona State University

Lindsey Meeks
Department of Communication
University of Oklahoma

Program Chair (2021)
Young Mie Kim
School of Journalism & Mass Communication
University of Wisconsin-Madison


Section Committee Members


Executive Board Committee At-Large
Meredith Conroy, California State University (2020-2021)
Cristian Vaccari, Loughborough University (2020-2021)

Nominations Committee
Joshua Scacco, University of South Florida (Chair)
Kevin Coe, University of Utah
Katherine Haenschen, Northeastern University
Cynthia Peacock, University of Alabama

Joint Publications Committee
Members from the Political Communication Divisions of ICA and APSA form an advisory board to the journal Political Communication.  For the ICA, it is either three or four people, depending on who is the current chair of the committee.  This year's committee is:

Yanna Krupnikov, Stony Brook University (term 2018-2021)
Andrew Chadwick, Loughborough University (term 2019-2022)
Joshua Darr, Louisiana State University (term 2020-2023)

Ex officio
Tim Groeling, UCLA (Chair, APSA Political Communication Section)
Sophie Lecheler, University of Vienna (Chair, ICA Political Communication Division)
Regina Lawrence, University of Oregon (Editor, Political Communication)
Joshua Scacco, University of South Florida (Interim APSA-ICA Political Communication Webmaster/Social Media Director)

Murray Edelman Distinguished Career Award Committee (given in uneven years)
Sarah Oates, University of Maryland (Chair)
Josh Pasek, University of Michigan
Eunji Kim, Vanderbilt University

Doris Graber Outstanding Book Award Committee
Abby Jones, Temple University (Chair)
Sharon Jarvis, University of Texas at Austin
Bob Boynton, University of Iowa

Walter Lippmann Best Published Article of the Year Award Committee
Rosie Clawson, Purdue University (Chair)
Nuri Kim, Nanyang Technological University
Seth Goldman, University of Massachusetts
Paul Lazarsfeld Best Paper Award Committee
Sean Richey, Georgia State University (Chair)
Mel Atkinson, University of North Carolina, Charlotte
Alcides Velasquez, University of Kansas

Thomas E. Patterson Best Dissertation Award Committee
Ashley Muddiman, University of Kansas (Chair)
Jill Edy, University of Oklahoma
Juan Larrosa Fuentes, ITESO University

Timothy E. Cook Best Graduate Student Paper Award Committee
David Weaver, Boise State University (Chair)
Chrysi Dagoula, University of Groningen
Emily Sydnor, Southwestern University

David Swanson Award for Service to Political Communication Scholarship Committee 
This is a joint ICA-APSA nomination committee that includes representatives of both divisions of Political Communication.  It is appointed by the two chairs of the divisions every two years, as the Award in memory of one of the founders of our discipline is presented every other year.  The aim of the Award is to recognize the service of those who distinguished in contributing to the field as program planners, journal editors, division leaders, webmasters, in several activities that require dedication of time and often of personal resources. 

This award was created to honor David Swanson's service to the ICA and APSA political communication divisions.

The current chair committee (serving until 2020) is Patricia Moy, University of Washington

Click here for a list of past officers and committee members