Political Communication Section Leadership

Sharon Jarvis
Department of Communication Studies
University of Texas at Austin

Vice Chair
Kevin Coe
Department of Communication
University of Utah

Yini Zhang
Department of Communication
University of Buffalo

Program Chair (2023)
Pat Meirick
Department of Communication
University of Oklahoma

Section Committee Members

Executive Board Committee At-Large
Leticia Bode, Georgetown University (2022-2023)
Ashley Muddiman, University of Kansas (2023-2023)

Nominations Committee
Katherine Haenschen, Northeastern University (Chair)

Joint Publications Committee
Members from the Political Communication Divisions of ICA and APSA form an advisory board to the journal Political Communication.  For the APSA, it is either three or four people, depending on who is the current chair of the committee.

This year's committee members are: Travis Ridout, Washington State University (term 2022-2025); Joshua Darr, Louisiana State University (term 2020-2023); Cynthia Peacock, University of Alabama (2021-2024)

Ex officio
Sharon Jarvis, University of Texas (Chair, APSA Political Communication Section)
Frank Esser, University of Zurich (Chair, ICA Political Communication Division)
Regina Lawrence, University of Oregon (Editor, Political Communication)
Curd Knüpfer, Freie Universität Berlin (APSA-ICA Political Communication Webmaster/Social Media Director)

Doris Graber Outstanding Book Award Committee (2023)
Vin Arceneaux (Chair), Sciences Po
Taina Bucher, University of Oslo
Jianing Li, University of South Florida

Walter Lippmann Best Published Article of the Year Award Committee (2023)
Jessica Feezell (Chair), University of New Mexico
Constantine Boussalis, Trinity College Dublin
Newly Paul, University of North Texas

Paul Lazarsfeld Best Paper Award Committee (2023)
Annelise Russell (Chair), University of Kentucky
Taewoo Kang, Siena College
C. Daniel Myers, University of Minnesota

Thomas E. Patterson Best Dissertation Award Committee (2023)
Benjamin Toff (Chair), University of Minnesota
Katherine McCabe, Rutgers University
Jennifer Pan, Stanford University

Timothy E. Cook Best Graduate Student Paper Award Committee (2023)
Fernando Feitosa (Chair), McGill University
Lisa Argyle, Brigham Young University
Dominik Stecula, Colorado State University

Murray Edelman Lifetime Distinguished Career Award Committee (2023)
Pippa Norris (Chair), Harvard University 
Jaeho Cho, University of California, Davis
Georgia Kernell, University of California, Los Angeles

David Swanson Award for Service to Political Communication Scholarship Committee 
This is a joint ICA-APSA nomination committee that includes representatives of both divisions of Political Communication.  It is appointed by the two chairs of the divisions every two years, as the Award in memory of one of the founders of our discipline is presented every other year.  The aim of the Award is to recognize the service of those who distinguished in contributing to the field as program planners, journal editors, division leaders, webmasters, in several activities that require dedication of time and often of personal resources.

This award was created to honor David Swanson's service to the ICA and APSA political communication divisions.

Click here for a list of past officers and committee members