International Communication Association
Political Communication Division Awards

Kaid-Sanders Award for Best Political Communication Article of the Year

Every year the ICA Political Communication Division awards the best article published in our field. The award will be given based on nominations using the following criteria:

  • Each person can nominate one article, which may include self-nominations.
  • The nomination should include a short rationale (min. 100 words) explaining why the article is nominated.
  • The article deals with an aspect of political communication in the broad sense.
  • The article was published in 2018 in a journal that deals with communication, political science, journalism, or public opinion (see list at the end).

This year’s award committee consists of Frank Esser (chair), Weiyu Zhang, Lilach Nir, Kelly Garrett and Stuart Soroka. The award committee judges each article on several criteria including the importance of the topic it addresses, theoretical depth, the strength of evidence it presents, and the significance of its conclusions. The committee will also consider the overall contribution to the field of Political Communication.

Deadline: February 25, 2019. Late submissions will not be accepted. All nominations should be sent by email to

The award for the winner (a 1000$ cash prize) and the first runner up (250$) will be given during the division’s business meeting in Washington DC.


2017 – Philipp Müller, Christian Schemer, Martin Wettstein, Anne Schulz, Dominique S. Wirz, Sven Engesser, and Werner Wirth, “The Polarizing Impact of News Coverage on Populist Attitudes in the Public: Evidence From a Panel Study in Four European Democracies,” Journal of Communication, 67 (6), 968-992. [Publisher]

2016 – Roderick P. Hart and Alexander L. Curry, “The Third Voice of American Politics,” Presidential Studies Quarterly, 46(1), 73-97. [Publisher]

2015 – Jeffrey Conroy-Krutz and Devra C. Moehler, “Moderation from bias: A field experiment on partisan media in a new democracy,” Journal of Politics, 77(2), 575-587. [Publisher]

2014 – Navid Hassanpour, “Media disruption and revolutionary unrest: Evidence from Mubarak’s quasi-experiment,” Political Communication, 31(1), 1-24. [Publisher]

2013 – Gadi Wolfsfeld, Elad Segev, and Tamir Sheafer, “Social media and the Arab Spring: Politics comes first,” International Journal of Press/Politics, 18(2), 115-137. [Publisher]

2012 – Catie Snow Bailard, “Testing the Internet’s effect on democratic satisfaction. A multi-methodological, cross-national approach,” Journal of Information Technology & Politics, 9(2), 185-204. [Publisher]

2011 – Lauren Feldman, “The opinion factor: The effects of opinionated news on information processing and attitude change,” Political Communication, 28(2), 163-181. [Publisher]

2010 – Hernando Rojas, “‘Corrective’ actions in the public sphere: How perceptions of media and media effects shape political behavior,” International Journal of Public Opinion Research, 22(3), 343-363. [Publisher]

2009 – Keren Tenenboim-Weinblatt, “Where is Jack Bauer when you need him?” The uses of television drama in mediated political discourse,” Political Communication, 26(4), 367-387. [Publisher]

2008 – Frank Esser, “Dimensions of political news cultures: Sound bite and image bite news in France, Germany, Great Britain, and the United States,” International Journal of Press/Politics, 13(4), 401-428 . [Publisher]

2007 – Adam Simon and Jennifer Jerit, “Toward a theory relating political discourse, media, and public opinion,” Journal of Communication, 57(2), 254-71. [Publisher]

2006 – Scott L. Althaus and Young Mie Kim, “Priming effects in complex information environments: Reassessing the impact of news discourse on presidential approval,” Journal of Politics, 68(4), 960-976. [Publisher]

2005 – Dhavan V. Shah, Jaeho Cho, William P. Eveland, Jr., and Nojin Kwak, “Information and expression in a digital age: Modeling Internet effects on civic participation,” Communication Research, 32(5), 531-565. [Publisher]

2005 – John Medearis, “Social movements and deliberative democratic theory,” British Journal of Political Science, 35(1), 53-75. [Publisher]

2004 – Jochen Peter, “Our long return to the concept of powerful mass media,” International Journal of Public Opinion Research, 16(2), 144-168. [Publisher]

2003 – Kees Aarts and Holli Semetko, “The divided electorate: Media use and political involvement,” Journal of Politics, 65(3), 759-784. [Publisher]

David Swanson Award for Service to Political Communication Scholarship

The David Swanson Award for Service to Political Communication Scholarship recognizes distinguished and sustained contributions to the field as planners, editors, and leaders and in roles that require time and energy, innovation, and personal dedication. The award honors David Swanson, one of the founders of political communication who gave exemplary service to the ICA Political Communication Division and the APSA Political Communication Sectiofn. In his memory, the ICA division presents the award every other year. The joint award committee includes representatives of the ICA division and APSA section.

The ICA division chair appoints members with the advice of the APSA chair, and the committee receives nominations and generates additional candidates, deliberates on the pool of potential awardees, and makes a selection. The winner receives the award plaque at the annual business meeting of the ICA Political Communication Division. The award is given in even-numbered years.

2018 – Claes de Vreese, University of Amsterdam
2016 – Shanto Iyengar, Stanford University
2014 – Patricia Moy, University of Washington
2012 – David Paletz, Duke University
2010 – Doris Graber, University of Illinois at Chicago
2008 – Wolfgang Donsbach, Technical University of Dresden
2006 – Ann Crigler, University of Southern California

Best Dissertation Award

2017 – Eike Mark Rinke, University of Mannheim
2012 – Keren Tenenboim-Weinblatt, University of Pennsylvania